This COGZ Web Based CMMS function allows you to backup your valuable data or restore data as needed in case of a loss. When you backup data the system creates a file containing all database files. This file should be copied to disk. See the backup description in the Getting Started section of the COGZ Web Based CMMS PM program manual for further recommendations regarding backups.
Warning: Any prior backup sets, which have been saved to the same file name, will be overwritten.
Any open files will be automatically closed before opening the backup program. Files can be transmitted by email to technical support once backup has been completed. You will need to know your email server information which will probably require you to contact your System Administrator. Click on the Settings tab to fill in the necessary information.
Be sure that no other users are logged into the COGZ system before proceeding with the backup. To log users off, access the Network User List through the File menu, System Maintenance section. Go to the Network User Form of any user that is logged into COGZ and deny access by checking the Deny Access box and clicking the Save button.
If users are accessing the program the backup will not be allowed.
Choose between backing up just the data files contained in COGZ or backing up all files needed to run the COGZ system. Please note that backing up the data files will not include any graphics. If you would like to include graphics in your backup you will need to backup all files.
The file name defaults to COGZ Today’s Date and Time.Zip. We recommend creating multiple backups so that if a system error occurs you will not be writing over the good information on your previous set of backups with corrupt data. Create multiples by adding onto the backup file name, perhaps with the date of the backup for easy identification. Last archive date, machine, and file are displayed in the backup window on the status bar.
Press start to backup your data.
Backup progress will be shown on the progress bars on the bottom of the screen. Once complete the initial screen will appear, with a list of backed up files in the middle screen, but without the Start button. Simply press Cancel to exit the backup program.
If you are running the Optional Properties/Multiple Database Module please see the properties section of this manual for additional information concerning backups.
Warning: Restoring data will overwrite your existing database. Please be sure that you would like to replace all existing data before proceeding with the restore utility.
Any open windows will automatically be closed before the restore window opens. All users must be logged off the system before proceeding with the restore. If there are users accessing the COGZ system the restore will not be allowed. To log off users, access the Network User List through the File menu, System Maintenance section. Go to the Network User Form of any user that is logged in to COGZ and deny access by checking the Deny Access box and clicking the Save button.
If users are accessing the program the restore will not be allowed.
The Zip Archive Name defaults to the last archive. This is local to the machine doing the restore. The Restore To field defaults to the last data directory or the current data directory. The last archive date, machine, and file are displayed on the window in the status bar.
Press Start to begin the restore process.
Restore progress will be shown in the progress bars on the bottom of the screen. Once the restore is complete the screen will return to the initial screen without the Start button. The files that have been restored will be displayed in the window. Press the Close button to exit the restore program.